Romance Recommendations: Top 5 Colleen Hoover Books

colleen hoover

Let’s admit it, we all appreciate and love a good romance.
I am not the biggest contemporary fan, but when I find a contemporary romance that grips me and makes me swoon, I am quick to recommend and rave about it. A few months ago, I like to call it fate, I went to a local bookstore looking for my latest read. For the first time, I did not want to read a fantasy book; I wanted a contemporary and so I searched. I found this single copy of Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover on a shelf, which I’d heard a lot about and from what I had gathered, it was not an extremely cheesy book, which was great. So I did not think twice and bought the book. From the moment that book left the store with me, my life changed.


It was the most hectic week of my life; it was right after Hurricane Maria, so there was no power and college was just crazy. I read it when I could, the intensity of it gripped me instantly, and after a few days…the book made me ugly cry in the university. Full on ugly crying in the university’s student center, with plenty of students surrounding me. So because of that experience, I want more people to get to know Colleen Hoover and suffer along with me. Here are my top five Colleen Hoover books:

Ugly Love
I mean…of course, there’s not a lot to say after explaining my experience with this book. So yeah, 10/10 would recommend and please have tissues with this book. Long story short, this novel is about graduate student Tate Collins who begins a sexual relationship with airline pilot Miles Archer since neither have the time to pursue a normal relationship. Turns out there is more to Miles than Tate originally thought. The emotional damage was unreal.

Hopeless
I got this book for free one day; it was meant to be as well. Although the tears didn’t come as much as they did with Ugly Love, there was still an emotional response that hurt me. This one deals with seventeen-year-old Skye, who runs into Holder, a guy from her past known to have a bit of a reputation. Skye can’t stay away from him and thus the story begins.

Maybe Someday 
This one was recommended to me by a friend (shout out to Jada!), and boy oh boy. I think we’ve been pretty much established that these books have had a deep emotional impact on me. This one falls more on the Ugly Love side, lots of emotional pain and tears. The story follows stellar college student Sydney after she finds out her boyfriend cheated on her and her perfect life falls apart until she meets musician Ridge and hopes that maybe someday (ha) she might be able to move on from her heartbreak.

It Ends With Us
This book had a similar vibe to Ugly Love which is what made me pick it up in the first place. This one also has the prettiest cover out of them all which is another reason as to why I love it so much. In this book, we have businesswoman Lily who is living out her dreams in the big city and meets Dr. Ryle Kincaid. When their relationship begins, she is just expecting everything to fall apart, since he seems to be too good to be true. As fate would have it, her first love Atlas Corrigan reappears into her life, and she finds herself in a difficult position.

All Your Perfects
Okay this one hasn’t come out yet, BUT I am just so excited about it, and I know that it will destroy me at an Ugly Love level, but I am ready for it. It is about a couple, Quinn and Graham, whose marriage is failing and have to reevaluate what made them fall for each other in the first place. Colleen Hoover hasn’t written about a marriage before, so this should be interesting and heartbreaking. We’ll see come July.

 

ul-promo

 

One thought on “Romance Recommendations: Top 5 Colleen Hoover Books

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.