A Court of Frost and Starlight: A Book Review

Well, it happened.

After a year of waiting for the next chapter in Rhys and Feyre’s life, it’s finally here. Now, this will be the spoiler-free section of this review, so stay tuned.

A Court of Frost and Starlight takes place a few months after the events of A Court of Wings and Ruin, and it is a short 200-page novella that deals with how the characters are feeling after those events and how they are trying to remain happy and celebrate the fact that they are alive and still together.

Now, I don’t want to say I was disappointed because I knew going into this book that it was just an extra epilogue to ACOWAR and that it would open the door to the new spin-off series releasing next year, but I just wanted to enjoy Rhys and Feyre one last time. I felt like I didn’t know the characters anymore. I expected this novella to be more about healing, since the previous events can traumatize anyone, and we see that.

Feyre is still not over the fact that had Rhys died or her father’s death. It was interesting to see that side of Feyre again, especially since we thought we’d left it behind after the events of A Court of Mist and Fury. I personally enjoyed reading those parts; I was reminded of Feyre’s humanity and how she is the character that feels the most due to her human heart.

We also saw more unexpected POVs like Cassian, Morrigan, and Nesta. Unexpected, but welcome.
NOW COMES THE SPOILER SECTION!!!!!

LEAVE IF YOU HAVE NOT READ ACOFAS!!!!

acofas titles

Well, at least we finally got the wall scene.

Since when did Nesta become such an unlikable character?

Is Rhys really that horny all the time?

Was this book a PSA about doing good? Because that’s what it felt like.

Do I really want a series completely dedicated to Nesta training with the Illyrians? No. Will I read it? Damn right I will.

Do I want Feysand babies? Hell yes, I do.

Do I feel bad for Tamlin? Hate to admit that I do.

Did I expect this book to really be this… mundane? No, I didn’t.

That’s my main complaint, it felt odd; it didn’t feel like an ACOTAR book. It felt like a fanfic written after a book that did not have a happy ending! And ACOWAR ended relatively happy.

I enjoyed this book, I genuinely did, but I just expected more from the characters. They all seemed… odd to me, their narratives were different and were just not what I had expected.

Also, Tamlin. I have never been quiet about my dislike towards the High Lord of Spring, and I expected to feel complete satisfaction in seeing him suffer, but part of me thought that it was just rubbing it in our faces. I still dislike him, but I found those chapters to be a bit much.

Still, I had a good time being back in the Night Court, and I am willing to have an open mind about Nesta and see where her journey in the Illyrian Mountains will go!

 

Love, Gabriela

Image Credits: 1 & 2

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.